How to make shorter URLs for Amazon.co.uk Associates

Short version for shortening Amazon.co.uk URLs by hand: the parts that have to stay are: product number, question mark, tag=[your code]. http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0415482305?ie=UTF8&camp=3194&creative=2133 0&creativeASIN=0415482305&linkCode=shr&tag=proofhanzoo-21&colid=WB4685W7MF4A&coliid=I1O67JCRKFITRO

I will explain it here in more detail using the example of Working More Creatively with Groups, a book I reviewed before.

Amazon.co.uk Product Page

In the Associates bar, go to Twitter. If you don’t want to use Twitter, this is still the place to go because the link you get is already shorter.

The screen you’ll see is this:

Amazon.co.uk Twitter Page

  1. Take out the crossed out bits right away: Check out Working More Creatively  withGroups by Jarlath Benson http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0415482305?ie=UTF8&camp=3194&creative=21330&creativeASIN=0415482305&linkCode=shr&tag=proofhanzoo-21&colid=WB4685W7MF4A&coliid=I1O67JCRKFITRO via @
  2. Next look for your personal tag (mine is proofhanzoo-21), everything after that can go. http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0415482305?ie=UTF8&camp=3194&creative=21330&creativeASIN=0415482305&linkCode=shr&tag=proofhanzoo-21&colid=WB4685W7MF4A&coliid=I1O67JCRKFITRO
  3. Then, take out everything from the question mark up to the word ‘tag’: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0415482305?ie=UTF8&camp=3194&creative =21330&creativeASIN=0415482305&linkCode=shr&tag=proofhanzoo-21
  4. Final touch: remove ‘product/’: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0415482305?tag=proofhanzoo-21
  5. You should end up with something like this: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/0415482305?tag=proofhanzoo-21
  6. To be sure, check if your new URL is valid by running it through Amazon.co.uk’s Link Checker.

Better, no?

23 thoughts on “How to make shorter URLs for Amazon.co.uk Associates

  1. I would like to continue reading concerning How to make shorter URLs for
    Amazon.co.uk Associates | Projects of Hanna Zoon, please provide a lot more materials.

  2. Excellent items from you, man. I’ve be mindful your stuff previous to and you’re simply extremely
    great. I actually like what you have received right here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which you are saying it. You’re making it enjoyable and you still take care of to stay it sensible.

    I can’t wait to learn much more from you. This is really a great web site.

  3. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve definitely picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the website lots of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage your
    quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for
    a lot more of your respective fascinating content.

    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  4. I’ve been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s
    pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all web owners and
    bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be
    a lot more useful than ever before.

  5. Hi there I am so grateful I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was looking on Aol for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for
    a incredible post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  6. It’s impressive that you are getting ideas from this article as well as from our discussion made at this time.

  7. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info particularly the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.

Comments are closed.