The Good, the Bad and the Extracurricular

Good: This academic year started with two module weeks (which I will tell you about later). This meant high-density classes, exercises and short projects, enough so that I pulled my first all-nighter early this year: in the first week to be exact.

Bad: The idea was that by this week, normalcy would return and I would have loads of time to spend on my main project: Smart Sleep. However… it seems like all I can think of is Sleep, without the Smart. So I wondered: what is going on? I looked forward to this project!

Extracurricular: To get a grip and prioritize my extracurricular activities, I have listed all TU/e activities under here to see how it looks. I have sorted them into a ‘right now’ and ‘this semester’ pile.

Right now:

  • Smart Sleep project: read and review literature, work on research question
  • Write reflections for module Autonomous Behaviour
  • Re-write PDP and Vision (PDP=personal development plan; Vision= written piece about vision as a designer)
  • ProFit competition: write proposal
  • Pitch for TNO Winter School: second round
  • Runners training for IAK City Run
  • Prototype for joint project with Electro students

This semester:

  • Find participants for User study
  • New Showcase website (showcase= portfolio)
  • Learn HTML
  • Learn SPSS
  • Organise 2 SDL workshops (SDL= self directed learning)
  • Write paper

If I am perfectly honest, only the first two points on each list are absolutely positively necessary. I don’t want to drop any of the others, but all of them together make up a pretty intense next few weeks. In fact, all the ‘right now’ activities are due this week.

That realization makes the prioritizing a bit easier: this week and this week alone I shall power through and do it all. After that, the dust will finally settle and I will have enough time to do the Smart Sleep project well and do some nice extracurricular activities. So the word prioritizing does not really fit here after all, does it…

Please tell me what you think!

