Scientific Method Adapted to Design Practice

I looked at basic scientific method on Wikipedia. Now this is very generic and perhaps not really suited to designers.

Elements of scientific method

Our faculty of Industrial Design likes our process to be like this (it is called Reflective Transformative Design Process):

I find this is too vague and uncommitted for my taste. I like to have a straightforward, clear model. So what about adapting traditional scientific method to design practice?

  1. Inspiration
  2. Research Question
  3. Research
  4. Hypothesis Development
  5. Evaluation and Improvement
  6. Conclusion

This is basically how I have worked last year. It would be interesting to see if and how, now that I am aware of this process, I will tweak and change it to make it better. Or perhaps I find that it is too rigid and rework it altogether. Stay tuned to find out!

 

One thought on “Scientific Method Adapted to Design Practice

  1. Pingback: The Method | Valerie K Clark

Please tell me what you think!

