Glowsticks

I bought some glowsticks. Now I didn’t expect much from them, but it said ‘glow’ on the tin so I thought it would be something useful for the Light Scribing project.

The glowsticks work as follows: they are translucent tubes with a glass tube inside, filled with two fluids. When you bend the stick, the glass tube breaks, causing the two liquids to mix, which gives a chemical reaction that produces light. More information on this process can be found here.

Because of the chemicals in the sticks, I don’t think it would be a good idea to use them in a final design for school children, as it could be dangerous. But that aside, I had a great time making some pictures.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Please tell me what you think!

