Picking minds

Over the next few days, I plan to engage a few people into doing an interview about personal space in multi-user environments. Do they experience these situations often, and do they think there is a problem with it? How do they behave in these situations? Do they create a personal ‘zone’ mentally, with posture, or stuff? Or do they keep their connection with their environment as open as possible, are they interacting with others?

After the initial questions, which should put the participants in the mindset of thinking about personal space, I will ask them to describe their ideal atmosphere around themselves in a multi-user space, using a simple moodboard of pictures and colours. This will give me an idea as to what people are looking for, and give me inspiration on what might or might not be desirable.

The last stage will be the participant interacting with a few simple paper prototypes, and telling me how they think the models work, if and how they would be helpful or not. I will be asking for their input and ideas.

I would like to interview people from different age groups, with different interests, backgrounds and occupations. Hopefully after the interviews I can decide on one or more aspects or user groups to focus on.

Please tell me what you think!

